Why?!

Why is it raining?  Because God thought it needed to rain today.  Why is it wet outside?  Because it’s raining. Why is it raining?  Because God thought it needed to rain today. Why can’t I go outside?  Because it’s raining. Why is it raining?  I already told you.  Why do you think you can’t go outside? I don’t remember.

UGH!  The paragraph above is a typical conversation with my three-year-old every five minutes of everyday. I think it’s safe to say we are in the “Why Phase”.  I heard one time that kids will ask “Why?” upwards of 200 times a day.  That is an average of 100 times per 12 hours!

Sometimes I would like to turn it around on him and ask, “Why won’t you eat your vegetables?  Why do you have to talk back to me?  Why won’t you sleep past 6:30am?”

Sometimes these “Why” conversations end like this: “Son, I just don’t know.”  “Yes, you do!”  “No, I don’t.” “Yes, you do, you tell me!”

 

As much as I would like to believe that I do know everything – I don’t.  So for now I just ask the One who does know, “Lord, why won’t these questions end?”

Leave a Reply

