Drinking Deeply: For the days of their youth are fleeting

By Shelby Rawson

Many days I read a blog created by mother of six Ann Voskamp. Her wisdom and tenderness are thought-provoking, convicting and inspiring. On a particular day, I felt the lump in my throat, the ache in my stomach and the burning of tears as they fought their way out of my tired eyes.

Ann beautifully describes the scene of watching her children outside. She is sitting down when her “Little girl” comes in and sits behind her. The child begins playing with her hair and chattering like most young girls do. Ann wants to remember this moment as she turns to stare into her daughter’s face. And with uncanny wisdom her child stares back at her mother saying, “I’ll stay your baby, Mama.”

Uughhh. Grab me in the chest. Get the tissues. How many times have I pleaded for time to slow down? Just let me linger here a bit longer. Let this moment always be as vivid as now. My daughter was just home from the hospital when I wept at the realization she will not stay a baby. Her fingers were so tiny they barely wrapped around my pinky. Never again will they be that small. And how often have I shed silent tears while nuzzling my cotton-topped little man? The exhaustion of mothering seems eternal, yet beholding the beauty seems but a breath.

I called my curly top over to me as we watched “Sesame Street” together. Wrapping my arms around her, I buried my face in her locks, breathing in memories. And as my breath warmed the top of her head, tears wet my cheeks. Drink it in, Shelby. Drink her in. You cannot get this back. Oh, Father let me not outlive these memories.
What memories have marked your mothering heart?
If you’d like to read more from Ann Voskamp, please go to http://www.holyexperience.blogspot.com.

Tips for Tots!

Boys Yeast Rash? Try mixing one tablespoon of white vinegar into one cup of water and swabbing it on the rashy bottom. Let it dry before applying a 40% zinc ointment. (the cheapest – Kroger’s brand, or Target Brand)

Airplane Ear Pressure? A dose of Benadryl® works well because it thins the mucus, thereby helping to prevent ear infections. My daughter developed an ear infection every time she flew until my doctor suggested this.

Great Quote for Moms

All of us have moments in our lives that test our courage. Taking children into a house with a white carpet is one of them.
– Erma Bombeck

Leave a Reply

