Giveaway – Post a comment for your chance to win!

Hello Ladies! 

We have an excellent giveaway for December’s Moms Together meeting.  In an effort to get you mommies to frequent our blog, we decided that we will have one special giveaway each month that will go to a mom who has posted a comment related to our giveaway topic. 

This month the question/topic is:  

Describe a picture-taking mishap that expains why you need a lesson from a professional photographer.

Respond by posting a comment to this post by Tuesday, December 9 at midnight.  We will randomly pick one person who has responded to be the winner of December’s Blog Giveaway which will be announced at Moms Together on Wednesday, December 10. 

We hope you enjoy responding…and reading other’s mishaps! 

14 Comments

  1. JenniferBell said,

    December 2, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    I guess deep down I “think” I am a great photographer….however, every time we have our pictures taken professionally I am reminded that I have no skills whatsoever. If it weren’t for the “automatic” setting on my camera….I could NEVER take even a decent photo.
    I feel like I can’t ever get my children to both look at the camera at the same time….much less both smile. I can’t even count the number of pictures I have taken where one child is smiling and the other is screaming…ugh!

  2. Crystal Varenkamp said,

    December 2, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Because seriously – if someone could tell me how to avoid having red eyes in EVERY picture that I take of anyone – I’d be forever grateful. I’m no pro at editing them after the fact, and making them all pretty in some program on the computer – let’s be honest, I’m lucky if I even get any of them printed off – so I’d love to not have to go red-eye eliminate in iphoto on every one!

    I know you’ll probably tell me that I need a better camera – but it happens with any camera I use, so I’m certain I’m at a bad angle or something. I mean, it can only be the cameras’ fault so many times before you claim user error!!!

  3. Colleen Reilly said,

    December 2, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Last year I was desperate to have a “perfect” Christmas photo of my 6 month old and 2 year old – what was I thinking? I planned it for a great time, right after nap – but did not plan on the shop running 45 minutes behind. Again, what was I thinking? After 10 minutes of the photo shoot (including a brief break to breastfeed my infant), I stopped the photogragher and gave up. She felt so bad for me she gave me a few prints for free of the ONLY shot with both of them not wailing!!

  4. Shelby Rawson said,

    December 2, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    I have an eye for a great photo. But somewhere between my optic nerve and my index finger lies a saboteur! For example, to get a few good pictures of my kids – I took 80 shots. Most of those were just luck because I just kept pressing the button over and over hoping that something cute would happen on the other side of the lens. To go a step further and into my past, let’s visit my honeymoon in Maui. My new hubbie and I hiked to a beautiful, secluded waterfall with [expensive borrowed] camera in tow. The waterfall at Shangrila was breathtaking as it poured into the ocean. Of course, I don’t have any proof of this because I set the timer on the camera and sat it on a rock. Good plan, right? Well, it would have been except when I turned my back the camera fell into the water and was ruined. We couldn’t take any more pictures the rest of the honeymoon! (I might add that I got over 70 mosquito bites from that hike! And they don’t sell Cortaid in Maui!!)

  5. Heather Parks said,

    December 3, 2008 at 10:43 am

    When it comes to our Christmas picture for the yearly card I always have great anxiety in trying to figure out the best place, pose, outfit, etc. The worst one was 3yrs ago when I had a grand idea to get a picture of my son in a special outfit sitting on my parent’s dock next to a crab trap. After sending the card out several people asked why my son was sitting next to a dog cage! I was so embarressed! It seems every year we have a picture mishap that turns into me having to answer as to what the picture is….HELP! This year is no different as it is Dec 3rd and I have NO picture yet! Here we go!

  6. December 4, 2008 at 10:33 am

    OK, when have I not had a photo mishap?? I am constantly trying, desperate for that perfect, beautiful picture of my girls that captures the essence of who they really are. Needless to say, I am still trying. Last Christmas my sister in law was in town with her two boys and we were so excited to get a shot of the 4 kids together for all the Grandparents. So after an hour of trying to get them all dressed in their beautiful Christmas outfits, off to Portrait Studios we go! We tried for 2 hours. Each photographer making their best attempt to get them to all look at the camera and smile at the same time. All while the 4 parents did all sorts of crazy, silly things to get them to smile. Tony’s dad was along for the ride and he sat eyes wide eyed as he watched us all desperately working for even one good shot. In our last attempt the photographer suggested we cover one of the lobby couches with a white sheet, each parent take a child and on the count of three set them on the couch and jump out of the shot. So after all that, we got one – nothing that will win any Picture of the Year awards but it does capture the essence of who they really are – crazy and so cute!

  7. Heather Bomar said,

    December 5, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Everytime I go to take a picture of all the kids together, I get sooooo mad and it brings the worst out of me 🙂 My husband thinks I am obsessed with finding that perfect picture and its just not happening!

  8. Alyson Sailer said,

    December 6, 2008 at 11:37 am

    When Benjamin was just three weeks old, I wanted to capture his young innocence… that cute newborn baby look. I gathered all of the “photo backdrops” I owned including my favorite black velvet curtains and my favorite white fuzzy robe (big mistake, I know). I laid Benjamin down on the fuzzy white robe, naked of course, to get that cute little rump in the picture and without warning a little stream of urine came whizzing out and landed right on my white robe! I gave up… but a few days later I must have forgotten the mishap and once again took my backdrops outside to get some pictures. This time his choice was the black velvet curtains and it wasn’t urine… it was poo… that yellow newborn poo!!! on black velvet!!! I’ll never look at those curtains the same.

  9. Jennifer Alexander said,

    December 6, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    I too have issues with red eye in most of my pictures. I took a picture a few months ago of my newborn with my neice holding her for the first time. This was supposed to be a special moment captured as my neice has had only boy cousins up until now and here she was holding her baby girl cousin for the first time. Of course when I uploaded the picture to my computer it turned out great with the exception of my baby having bright red eyes. I thought to myself. . .no big deal. . . I will use the red eye reduction feature that is on the computer and it will fix it. So I did, and I thought I had fixed everything so I deleted the original red eye picture and saved what I thought was the corrected one. Well, after printing I realized that I must have over corrected with the red eye reducer as my newborn looked like she had jet black eyeliner on her eyes!!! Needless to say. . .there was no way I was going to be giving that picture to my neice!

  10. December 8, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    We got this nice fancy SLR camera, that is supposed to help us “catch the moment”, but we can’t seem to “catch the moment” in focus! Still learning how to use our camera a year or 2 later. Anyone else???

  11. Elise Tepner said,

    December 8, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    so many of my pictures are washed out! I can’t seem to get a good close-up without extremly white and blurry faces! I’m also frustrated with the slow shutter speed of my little camera, I miss the good moments…trying to decide if it’s the camera or the photographer!

  12. Keena Andrews said,

    December 8, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    All year I am constantly emailing pictures to friends and family. I like to think I am a good photographer, however, every year I am reminded around the holidays that this is so far from the truth. This is the time of year I visit family and one cousin in particular, who has taken several photography classes. She brings out her beautiful pictures, kids posed perfectly, lighting just right, etc., etc. and reminds me of the fact that – a photographer I am not. How does she get the lighting just right anyways? I guess I will never know unless I win the lottery or a giveaway.

  13. Crissy Talley said,

    December 9, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Help me not turn into my mother! We have a running joke in our family not to ask my mom to take pictures because we know what they will turn out like. She usually holds the camera as far as her arm will let her which usually isn’t far enough for her and she always manages to cut off our heads every time. I can’t stop laughing just thinking of my mom taking our picture. To identify who is in the picture we have to remember what we were wearing because you can’t see anybodies faces. After she takes the picture she usually says let me take another one this way and we graciously say that we are sure the first one is perfect. Thankfully I am a lot like my precious, godly mother but I would love not to inherit her photography skills and maybe I can even share with her what I have learned especially since she isn’t in on the family joke.

  14. Tara Owen said,

    December 10, 2008 at 9:39 am

    My husband, Jeff, has enjoyed taking pictures of nature for a long time (and has won a couple amateur awards), but that talent has not transferred yet to taking pictures of people! =) We have a 2 year old son and another one on the way and I’d love for him to be able to take good pictures of our boys…especially since Jeff won’t hire professional pictures taken of our son or family because he has some good photography equipment and thinks we can do it ourselves. I’d love to learn how to take better pictures and for my husband to learn how to transfer his nature photography talent to a talent in taking pictures of people. Jeff has several people request for him to take pictures of their family because they have seen his pictures of nature and heard him talk about his love of photography, so it would be great for him to be able to learn how to take good pictures of people and share this talent with others!


Leave a Reply

