March Giveaway

Post a comment related to this topic for your chance to win March’s Giveaway!

How old is the oldest piece of clothing in your closet that you still wear?  (Something you actually bought new…not something vintage.)  And of course you have to tell us what it is 🙂  Be descriptive. 

For example:  I have a sorority t-shirt from college that is about 6 years old that I still wear.  OR  I have a pair of jeans from high school (10 years ago) that I still wear (ok so that one is totally not true…..but just an example).

26 Comments

  1. Sami Cone said,

    February 28, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    I still have my powderpuff football and state tennis long sleeve shirts from my senior year of high school. I’ve parted with a lot of things, but those were each special and personalized, so I can’t seem to get rid of them!

  2. Jennifer Briggs said,

    March 1, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    I have an Old Navy sweatshirt that is about 15 years old. It was originally navy, but it is faded to a purple color. There are stains on the front of it, so I normally turn it inside out. It is my ultimate “lounge” sweatshirt!

  3. KateBlocher said,

    March 1, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    Ihave a pair of red Nike running shorts from Jr. High…12 years old, and I still wear them!!! Somehow

  4. Amanda King said,

    March 1, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    I have a baby blue Delias Peacoat that I got my senior year of HS. (98).

  5. Stacey said,

    March 1, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    I have a t-shirt from my sophmore year of college when I played soccer for Lipscomb University. It has all of the players from that year and their numbers listed and a cartoon picture of each of us. This shirt brings back such good memories and it’s so stretched out and thin that it’s so, so comfy.

  6. Whitney Harmon said,

    March 1, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    I have a 1996 Braves World Series t-shirt that I still wear to bed. It is so faded and has a few holes in it. I really need to get rid of it, it’s just so soft.

  7. Crystal Varenkamp said,

    March 2, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Well…I just threw away a black tunic shirt that was from 1988 that I still wore…so if you had done this 6 months ago I could have claimed a 20 year old shirt!

    However, I have a gray church high school group sweatshirt from 1994 that I still wear. Yes, I wear it in public – out to the store, or running, or to drop the kids at school. I’m not ashamed!!!

  8. Kristin Mullenix said,

    March 2, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I still wear my first college sweatshirt that I received the day that I found out I was going to attend James Madison University – it is 15 years old!!! YIKES!!! I may have forgotten half of what I learned in college, but at least I can remind myself that I have a college education when I snuggle up in my comfy sweatshirt!

  9. Lori Veal said,

    March 2, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    I still wear an ARMY tshirt that I got in college, 14 years ago…i have worn it so much and have washed it so much, it is totally see through…I only wear it to bed…no worries! 🙂

  10. Brea DeTray said,

    March 2, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Well, one of the many things that I still have much to my husbands dislike, is a Goodland High School Wrestling t-shirt from when I was a junior and my brother was a Freshman and he was state champion and on the back it says, “If you think my brother is tough, you should wrestle me!” HA!

  11. katie ebert said,

    March 3, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    I have a pair of 15 year old, Old Navy, denim shorts that are comfortable for around the house but not so cute for wearing out anymore.

  12. Liesl Dunlap said,

    March 3, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    I still have a few T-shirts from college (16 years ago) that I still wear. One in particular, is from our “Winterfest” celebration we did every year. Those were the days of the BIG, baggy T-shirts so even after 3 kids, it still fits. 🙂

  13. Amber Hatchett said,

    March 4, 2009 at 10:14 am

    I have a long-sleeved white t-shirt that we got in 8th grade on our class trip to Washington D.C., so 14 years ago. On the back, it says DLHS class of ’99 and lists everyone’s name in our graduating class. I still wear it around the house for lounging, but never out in public anymore.

  14. Tara Owen said,

    March 4, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    I have a freshman formal t-shirt and a 5K walk t-shirt from Baylor that I still wear and I got them in 1996 so they are 14 years old…there doesn’t seem like there is any way that can be true so hopefully I added up the years incorrectly!!!

  15. Rebecca Lee said,

    March 4, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    I have and love wearing a pair of linen drawstring khaki pants that are from sophomore year of college 1994. When it is time for comfort out they come. Wore them this weekend at our mom’s together retreat! They have a few patches of paint on them from painting Homecoming banner 1995. And blue icing from our retreat!

  16. Crissy Talley said,

    March 4, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    I have my high school senior sisters sweat shirt (18 years ago). My friends and I actually sewed letters on the front so we looked like we were in college. I think I might just go put it on now!

  17. Alyson Sailer said,

    March 9, 2009 at 8:04 am

    Mine is also a college sweatshirt from 96. Wow, 13 years old! The letters are all peeling off the front, but I love it.

  18. Keena said,

    March 9, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    I still have a T-shirt from high school that is about19 years old that I still wear around the house. It has a great poem on it and is very comfy.

  19. melissa platt said,

    March 9, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    i have an old army t-shirt that a friend gave me in high school about 14 years ago i think. it looks like it has stains all on it but really it is that the material is completely worn through in spots. it is the most comfortable shirt to sleep in, in fact i am wearing it right now!! 🙂

  20. Colleen Reilly said,

    March 9, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    I have a Vandy sweatshirt that I LOVE! It is 14 years old, I got it when I was a junior in high school. I actually wore it to a Vandy game this year! The sleeves are tattered, but it is very comfortable! I will cry when I have to retire it!

  21. Kelly Tillman said,

    March 9, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    I have a a UT t-shirt that I bought sophomore year of college that I love. While at UT I worked at the Campus Bookstore and used my discount to buy my UT wardrobe (pathetic). This was back in 1997, so 12 years ago!

  22. Lori Johnsen said,

    March 10, 2009 at 8:09 am

    I have a t-shirt that I still wear around the house that I got in the late 80’s.

  23. Amie Tindall said,

    March 10, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    My oldest article of clothing is a pair of polka-dotted long underwear bottoms that I “got” from my sister when I was in Jr. High school. (that was 23 years ago!) I still wear them to bed every now and then. Of course, they are a little more stretched out and a bit snugger than they used to be!

  24. Tara Hamada said,

    March 10, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    I have a few pairs of pants from 1988-1991 that I still wore prior to this pregnancy. My mom was so determined that I not be one of the girls in too- tight pants that she had me covered for several decades by buying them 2 sizes too large! Thankfully, she bought great quality clothes. Most quit fitting after pregnancy #3, and I think this baby will end the remaining few.

  25. Melinda McCormick said,

    March 10, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    I don’t wear it personally but my daughter does…it’s a t-shirt from a 1996 Mission Trip to Austria. I loved the shirt and the trip so I couldn’t part with it so now it’s a paint smock.

  26. Amanda Han said,

    March 11, 2009 at 7:46 am

    I have a BC sweatshirt i got visiting a friend in 96. it’s full of holes but so comfy!


Leave a Reply

