May Blog Giveaway – Enter Once a Day for Chance to Win

Get ready to hear Dave Ramsey speak at our next Moms Together meeting on May 13th. You won’t want to miss him or the fabulous prizes you can win by entering our great blog giveaway. Just visit the Moms Together site and leave ANY comment about kids and money. Have you taught your kids about money? Any good ideas? Bad ideas? When is the right age to start?

Β Here is your chance to help your discussion group table win a fabulous prize. If you win…your whole table wins! You can enter once a day for more chances to win, but all entries must be received by Tuesday night, May 12 at 10 pm.

64 Comments

  1. Amie Tindall said,

    May 10, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    One of my good friends uses a great system…whenever her kids (ages 6 and 8) get their allowance, 10% goes to tithes, then the rest is divided. Half goes to savings and half goes to spending money. It has already become a habit for them to break down their money this way.

  2. Sami said,

    May 10, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    It’s never too early to learn. Start with teaching them that everything thing we have belongs to God, then it depends upon each child with the best way to motivate them!

  3. Jill Guinness said,

    May 10, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    We LOVE using the Dave Ramsey method with our kids – ages 6 and 4. They’ve got 4 “piggy banks” and when they get $1.00 for “clean up” each week they put 25c in savings, 25c in generous and 50c in spending. They LOVE being able to use their generous money for blessing others. One thing that we’ve found helpful to keep the incentive real for them is to make sure that they have ample opportunities to spend their spending money (ex. drink at Sonic) or gumball at the grocery store.

  4. Jill Guinness said,

    May 10, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    (Eeek – I meand that they each of “3 piggy banks”)

  5. Emily Webber said,

    May 10, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    We have a mason jar that my daughter puts her money into. She gets an allowance for doing jobs. She separates out her coins for tithing, savings and her fun money.

  6. Emily Marcy said,

    May 10, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Emphasizing all that we have is God’s and He entrusts us, as his believers, to steward his gifts for the glory of his kingdom. God always gets the first fruits, then any and all financial responsibilities and savings… I am a mom to a 21 month old and one on the way so our plan is to instruct wise spending. But always to give to God first, knowing that it is all His. He blesses those who steward well and live with their hands open to giving, the picture of not storing up your treasures on earth but for heaven.

  7. Shane said,

    May 10, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    We love the Dave Ramsey Financial Peace Jr. set. It has a parents guide and charts for the kids to earn commissions. We are about to start this system with our three kids!

  8. Tara Smith said,

    May 10, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    I love Amie’s friend’s method. My children are 23 months and 11 months, but I’m already thinking ahead to how I’m going to teach them about monetary things. Thanks for sharing!!!

  9. amy said,

    May 10, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    My kids are really small but they do have a bank and know that coupons are money!! That is about it so far! πŸ™‚

  10. sharon maumus said,

    May 10, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    When our daughter receives birthday money, we let her pick out a gift with 50% of the money. The other 25% goes into savings and the remaining 25% goes towards a Christmas gift for another child. She does struggle when we have to spend the money to buy a gift for another child, but we continually tell her why we are doing this and that we need to share the blessings God has given to us. She’s almost 4 now and I think she is finally understanding the concept of giving to others less fortunate and feels good about this!

  11. Random Friend Of Cherilyn said,

    May 10, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    my daughter is still young, but she helps me cut and sort coupons and knows that using them saves us money. she also has a bank where she is learning to save her money.

  12. melissa p said,

    May 10, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    my daughter is still young, but she helps me cut and sort coupons and knows that using them saves us money. she also has a bank where she is learning to save her money.

  13. Lauri Newell said,

    May 10, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Well, Elise is 6 months old, and she watches intently from the front pack as I pay for things out of my envelope system. Sometimes I let her hand over the cash, but she’s a bit tight-fisted. Maybe she learned that from me, so we’ll start working on generosity soon too.

  14. Amanda Han said,

    May 10, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    If I gave my son (19 months) money, he would eat it. So, when he gets over his fixation of putting everything in his mouth, I will listen to some of your advice!! I have already opened a Schwab checking/brokerage account for the monetary gifts he has received from birth, and plan to teach him financial responsibility when he’s old enough to understand what that means.

  15. Sami said,

    May 11, 2009 at 7:37 am

    I love hearing that Dave ramsey has a FPU Jr. edition! I’ll have to check that out!

  16. katie ebert said,

    May 11, 2009 at 8:12 am

    We haven’t started giving our kids “commissions” yet, but probably will in the next year, at least for our 4-year old. My parents always had me save half of everything I earned, which really helped me out by the time I was in college. I was so glad to have that extra cash. I hope to teach my kids the same values of saving like crazy, and giving like crazy too.

  17. Kate Blocher said,

    May 11, 2009 at 8:14 am

    I am one of Dave’s counselors and workplace trainers and I am always impressed with how well the FPU Jr. is received. My son is only 1, so no envelopes yet πŸ™‚ Biut teaching your kids about money and the proper way to handle it is one of the greatest gifts you can give…aside from salvation that is πŸ™‚

  18. Amie Tindall said,

    May 11, 2009 at 8:42 am

    I was working at my kids’ school bookfair when another mom told this story…A family she knows was saving-Dave Ramsey style- for emergencies. They had about $1500 cash put aside that they kept in their house. Their daughter, who is in 5th or 6th grade, decided to help herself to $400 of it. She took it to her school’s bookfair and spent most of it (during several trips). The rest she gave to her friends for “silence” money!

  19. Amelia Moore said,

    May 11, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Well, my kids are 3 and 2 years, so we really haven’t “taught” them about money yet. But they do love to play with the coins, so we bought our oldest a cool bear-shaped bank where the coins “slide” down this tree into the belly. So they get to put in all the dimes, nickels and pennies. So right now we are “teaching” them to save (because they can’t get the money back out) and the difference between the sizes of the coins. Does that count!? ha!

  20. Heidi said,

    May 11, 2009 at 9:10 am

    When Ceylon lost her 1st tooth, one of her grandparents had given us a dollar to be from the “tooth fairy.” She was kind of upset to see one dollar instead of quarters (she collects quarters). The next lost tooth, we got out pretty easy-with 2 quarters-and she was even happier!

  21. Amber Hatchett said,

    May 11, 2009 at 9:18 am

    My son is not old enough for this yet, but we definitely plan on doing Dave Ramsey’s plan with him. I want to make sure that he learns to be wise with his money, so that he doesn’t make some of the mistakes I did!

  22. Melinda McCormick said,

    May 11, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Already my 2 year old knows she can only get things when they are on sale. Last week she got to have “Dora ogurt” and as she was eating it she proudly proclaimed, “It was on sale!” Plus we had a coupon which she proudly gets to hand over at check out. I’ll know it’s really kicked in when she says,”We saved over 50% today!”

  23. Amy Dillbeck said,

    May 11, 2009 at 10:28 am

    My 4 year old loves to “Pay” when we check out. I can’t wait to hear what Dave Ramsey has to say about the kids Jr. program. He’s beginning to understand that we can’t buy him everything he wants everytime we go to the store. We haven’t started a savings, giving program yet, but I think it’s time to start.

  24. Lisa Hulett said,

    May 11, 2009 at 11:16 am

    We have worked out a system for our 10 and 12 year old guys. We have 4 envelopes each. 10% SAVINGS, 10% CHARITY, 10% INVESTMENT and SPENDING MONEY (for movies, extras on vacations, etc…). My oldest son wants to know when he can start investing in the STOCK MARKET. Same child started his own water balloon business last summer. He is truly getting the meaning of CAPITALISM at an early age! I’m loving it but my problem is CONSISTENCY with staying on top of this whole system. Maybe Dave Ramsey can offer advice for me!

  25. Alyson Sailer said,

    May 11, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    I’m not quite there with my 20month old. He does frequent consignment sales with me, helps me clip (tear to shreds) coupons, and tries to swipe my debit card at the grocery. We’re looking forward to teaching him how to give, save and spend when he gets a bit older.

  26. Cheryl Fritz said,

    May 11, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    My kids spend too much and save too little.

  27. Andrea Manor said,

    May 11, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    When we’re at the store and our three year old wants something we weren’t planning to buy, we explain that it wasn’t on the list-teaching her to plan ahead and not impulse buy.

  28. Kelly Tillman said,

    May 11, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    My kids and I need to start respecting money and using it wisely, ASAP…

  29. Keena Andews said,

    May 11, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Funny Story: My 4 yr old recently returned from visiting his grandparents and brought home what he called a “coin collection.” He kept the pennies, dimes and nickels and gave the half dollars to his younger brother – which I thought was so sweet. We took the money up to their room and put it all into their banks (larger amounts we put into each of their college funds, but this was maybe $3-$4.) A few days later I found that my 4 yr old had taken all the money from his younger brother’s bank and put them into his bank – NOT so sweet after all. We all had a big laugh and split everything equally. Maybe I will have better luck in the future or at least buy kid proof banks. HA!

  30. Brea DeTray said,

    May 11, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    My daughter is 22 months and right now just gets REALLY excited about putting coins in her piggy bank. Love looking at the ideas for the future!

  31. Chandra Zoba said,

    May 11, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    The same way you let your kids see how coupons save money, when you are shopping show them the difference in price between store brands and name brands. If they want a special treat, (i.e. ice cream) let them know you have to save X amount with coupons or by buying store brands to be able to pay for the special treat. They’ll get excited as they see the savings add up in the store and maybe more willing to try the offbrand cheerios too.

  32. Whitney Harmon said,

    May 11, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    I think it’s never too early to teach kids about money. The earlier the better.

  33. Tiffany Foss said,

    May 11, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    I love the Dave Ramey’s commission chart, but we’re am not good about documenting and paying them out. What does work well for us is the .25 cents reward for asking how they can help. Any time they ask if they can help, and they can help us by doing something, they are immediately paid .25 cents. If it’s a larger job, folding laundry or scooping dog poop, they’re paid more. We then talk about God’s money, fun money, and saving for something important money. We clip coupons and talk about sales and “needs” versus “wants” too…

  34. Colleen said,

    May 11, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    My 3 year old daughter “helps” me cut coupons, which she calls “money.” She knows that we don’t go to the store without the coupon binder!

  35. Crissy Talley said,

    May 11, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    This may not be exactly what you are looking for but I saw this great idea for teaching your kids how to know which coins are which. Take a piece of paper or something similar and one of each coin(quarter, dime, nickel, penny) and tape to paper and place on in the car on the headrest of the seat in front of child. It is a great time to review coins.

  36. Shane said,

    May 11, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    For younger kids, you could also get Larry Burkett’s house piggy bank- it has three slots labeled church, store and save. I fell like the DR envelope system is better for when they get older, though.

  37. Tara Owen said,

    May 11, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    My parents usually paid with cash at the grocery store when I was a child, and so they usually received change after paying for the food. One time I went to the grocery with my father and he paid the exact amount for the groceries. I got really upset as we were walking away and said, “but dad, they didn’t pay us!”

  38. melissa p said,

    May 11, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    my daughter also helps us save for a future adoption. she gets to put coins that she finds into our adoption jar. granted, at 3 years old the concept is a bit confusing for her, but i hope that someday she can remember that she played an important part in the process.

  39. amy dreier said,

    May 11, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    My 7 year old son loves the idea of spending his allowance. This past week I asked him if he would like to give some of his money from his piggy bank to the church. He asked “What for?” I told him it was for God to use to help others. He had to think for a minute how much he wanted to give and gave it willingly – hooray. Now is my chance to learn how to do Dave Ramsey’s system! My five year old son, loved that idea and reached into his baggie of coins and grabbed a fist full of money for God. My three year old son just was excited to be given a $3 gift to buy a toy. I can’t wait to learn a system to develop giving, spending and responsibility for my children. A good time to teach them about what the Bible says about money.

  40. elise tepner said,

    May 11, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    The farthest I have gotten with money and teaching my 2 1/2 year old- its to avoid putting it in the mouth!
    Other than that, I hope to teach him to give with a whole heart.

  41. Rebecca Colman said,

    May 11, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    We have a rule in our house that if my children, only 5 and 7, leave their money laying around that I will take it. We are trying to teach our little ones the importance of looking after their money and keeping it in a safe place, even if only a penny. Even now at such a young age they have learnt to keep their money in that safe place and to look after it, for if they don’t it may disappear right in front of them. Such a valuable lesson that we hope will stay with them forever.

  42. Mandy said,

    May 11, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    We’ve talked a lot with our kids (6 & 3)about being generous not only with our money, but with the things we don’t use anymore. We haven’t set up a “chores” list yet, but need to. Our kids are very motivated by money – especially our 6 -yr old son. He’s learned how to count it and the value of it this year in 1st grade. We take them shopping with their gifts of money and they have to choose how to spend what they have and make choices accordingly.

  43. Tara Owen said,

    May 12, 2009 at 7:01 am

    My son is 2 and he doesn’t have much of a concept of money, but he likes to pay the cashier at any store.

  44. amy said,

    May 12, 2009 at 7:46 am

    My kids are really small but they help me cut and use coupons and save their money in a bank.

  45. Debbie Gilkey said,

    May 12, 2009 at 7:47 am

    My 5 yr old son came home from a friend’s house last week and told us he wanted a Wii. We told him that is a big present and that we would all have to save up for that….which he then replied – “no problem, I will just ask Santa for it! so then none of us have to pay!”.
    ha!

  46. valerie ritchey said,

    May 12, 2009 at 8:35 am

    we have started an open dialog with our kids- ages 1 and 3- about how Daddy works for money that we use to buy things, such as food, clothes and our mortgage. We also talk about how God provides the job for Dad, and everything we have belongs to Him- Because the money is Gods, we have to be very careful how we spend it.

  47. Evelyn Brush said,

    May 12, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Isaac is 7 months old, and his grandparents have already started giving him cash gifts here and there for various occasions. I’ve started an envelope fund for him so we can save “his” money, and my husband and I will be discussing what we’d like to do with it for Isaac’s future (college, anyone?).

    I’ve been thinking a lot about Christmas and birthdays, and how we have so much STUFF already — who needs more toys or clothes? I want to teach Isaac about joyful giving, so what better way to do that than to give generously to other people on your own special day? Hoping our new little family can start our own family tradition of less for ourselves and more for others.

  48. Amy Dillbeck said,

    May 12, 2009 at 10:29 am

    I asked my son (4 yrs) where money came from this morning..and he said “work”. Way to go son.

  49. Emily Siefert said,

    May 12, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    I just started a savings account for my 19 month old! Dave Ramsy has said that if you put $25 a day in an account, with interest there will be one million dollars by the time my son is 40! (or something like that!) πŸ™‚ I hope it works!

  50. Heather Parks said,

    May 12, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    My 5yr old knows that mommy will not buy anything unless it is either on sale or she has a coupon for it.

  51. Heidi said,

    May 12, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Ceylon does things every once in a while for quarters. She keeps them in a ziploc bag in the car so when we eat at a restaurant that has gum/candy machines, she can buy her own.

  52. sharon maumus said,

    May 12, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    When I play “grocery” with my daughter at home when she pretends to check out with her play cash register I always remind her to use her “coupons”. (I give her expired coupons to play with.) She is only 3 1/2 but always reminds me at the store to use my coupons and I hope that she will grow up spending more responsibly than I did by using coupons/rebates from a young age.

  53. Sami said,

    May 12, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    we also started paying our kids to learn bible verses – i’ve heard many teachers say that if you’re going to pay for chores, why not pay for something that’s much more important – hiding God’s Word in their hearts!

  54. Whitney Harmon said,

    May 12, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    My four year old has a penny bank that has three different slots. One for savings, one for giving and one for spending. He loves to earn money and put the money in the slots.

  55. Kate Blocher said,

    May 12, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    I am very much enjoying everyone’s comments and ideas…we are looking forward to this particular task when our 1 year old gets a little older πŸ˜‰ I can attest to the blessing it is when parents make this a priority and what can happen when they do not..both situations exist in my family growing up πŸ™‚

  56. Colleen Reilly said,

    May 12, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    My kids have piggy banks. They help collect loose change around the house, and have a small reward for helping Mommy!

  57. Christina Stevens said,

    May 12, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    We started doing allowance when our son turned 5. We identified 2 jobs that he could do and pay him $5 every 2 weeks for completing those jobs. He has to give 50 cents evry week to church, but the rest is in a big jar for him to do with as he likes. There have been afew times that he has run out of money and REALLY wanted to buy something. A few weeks ago he painted his own piggy bank so he could start saving money in it. I guess you could say that we used the Love and Logic approach and our son has adopted the Dave Ramsey approach as a result of the lessons he learned! πŸ™‚

  58. Amie Tindall said,

    May 12, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Last night, I was telling my 8 year old daughter about who I would be listening to at our gathering tomorrow. I explained that Dave Ramsey is very smart about money and I want to see what I can learn from him. She said, “Mom, you better pay close attention and see if he has a program for kids because I only have $10 dollars left in my bank.” I guess I better take good notes!

  59. susie cullison said,

    May 12, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    All these great ideas….I am excited to hear Dave speak tomorrow! Our oldest is 4 1/2 and we definitely need to start talking about money and allowances.
    I have heard 2 philosophies on allowances.
    1. Giving allowance independent of chores. Chores are required b/c you are part of a family, children shouldn’t be taught that those tasks are tied to rewards.
    2. Allowances are directly tied to chores. The more chores the more allowance, the less chores the less allowance.
    Any thoughts??

  60. Melinda McCormick said,

    May 12, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    I’m already teaching my 9 month old to handle money carefully…NEVER put it in your mouth!

  61. Stacey said,

    May 12, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    i have a 21 month old so needless to say, all we done with money thus far is put it in a piggy bank…fun times for a toddler. my husband and i know that we are just stewards of all that God has given us. i hope to teach my children that all of our money belongs to God and we are to honor Him with it. as a child i was never taught anything about money and i hope to give my children a better understanding of how to spend money wisely and give it away to those less fortunate.

  62. Janelle Nigrelli said,

    May 12, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    The other day we gave our girls each $2 to buy an ice cream and Gianna handed $1 back to us and said, “that’s too much”. I laughed and said, “you’ll never feel that way again!” πŸ™‚

  63. melissa p said,

    May 12, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    even though my daughter is young, she is learning that we shop from a list, use coupons and only buy things on sale. she is quite the little helper while i shop!

  64. Anna Mueller said,

    May 12, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    One thing I hope to convey to Pace is that God owns it all and that we are stewards of what He gives us. I am conscious of using the word, “mine,” and hoping to avoid it as much as possible. Instead, I intend to say things like, “Mommy is using this cup right now,” or “Daddy needs this book right now,” or “God gave us this to enjoy and share.”


Leave a Reply

