This Saturday, Parenting Event!

Dear Fellowship Family,

Many years ago one of my daughters, Jessie, spotted a book I was reading called How to be Your Daughter’s Daddy. Later she told Cindy, “I don’t want daddy to read that book.” Curious, Cindy asked why. Jessie said, “I like him the way he is.”

 

Like any parent, we long to be the kind of father and mother who can nurture, instruct, love, encourage, prod, and cheer on our kids to maturity. We need all the help we can get as parents—each child is unique and each parent is uniquely unqualified! So, over the years, Cindy and I have read countless books on parenting. Many are helpful and insightful, some, “not so much.”

 

When I first arrived at Fellowship, Dave Ramsey handed me a book, Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters, by Dr. Meg Meeker. He told me it was one of the best books he had read on parenting. I took it home, consumed it, and came to the same conclusion. It’s an extraordinary work!

 

I am excited to announce that Dr. Meg Meeker, also the author of Boys Should Be Boys: 7 Secrets to Raising Healthy Sons, is coming to Fellowship to speak on this topic of parenting. Dr. Meeker has spent the last 20 years practicing pediatric and adolescent medicine and counseling teens and parents. She is a popular speaker on teen issues and is frequently heard on nationally syndicated radio and television programs including Dateline with Katie Couric, The Today Show and Oprah and Friends.

 

Join us Saturday, Sept. 26th, 8:30-11:30am in The Barn for this free event (no childcare available). I’d highly recommend this mini-seminar on parenting. It will be time well invested.  

Michael Easley

Leave a Reply

