Book Giveaway!

Want to win a copy of the book “Scream Free Parenting”?

All you have to do is leave a comment below (before 9pm on 3/9) with either your favorite “scream” moment with your kids (which would really explain why you need the book!) or your favorite “scream-free” moment that you’ve learned from the book. Maybe you’re version of screaming with your kids is just a loud tickling session; whatever it is, we want to hear about it!

A winner will be drawn at random from all the comments received at our meeting on Wednesday, March 10th. See you there!

8 Comments

  1. Shelby Rawson said,

    March 5, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Hmmm… I only “scream” in the van, in the playroom, and downstairs. So, not too much. ha!

  2. Sami said,

    March 6, 2010 at 8:10 am

    Instead of giving the kids a time out when I’m upset, I take a personal time out in my bathroom to collect myself and pray!

  3. emily sutherland said,

    March 6, 2010 at 11:12 am

    it is hard for me to say that i have a favorite “scream” moment, b/c most of them i am ashamed of. i have a hard time remaining calm when i get upset with my boys, but i have come to realize that my behavior is not good and i am on the path to change! one of the most memorable moments i have is one morning when we were trying to get out the door for work. my youngest (2 1/2) wanted to help put the top on his sippy cup after i filled it with milk. i thought i would let him help me do it, but he wanted to do it completely on his own. so, he jerked the cup out of my hand and milk went everywhere (including my pants)! i “screamed” loudly “i am so angry” but it was in a very calm manner. loud, but calm. my husband came into the kitchen almost laughing b/c of what he heard me say and then thankfully he took over for me and cleaned up the mess. i long to live in a scream free home…but it will have to start with me! i need to read this book!

  4. Tara Hamada said,

    March 6, 2010 at 11:21 am

    My kids like to do imitations of family members and say “Who am I ?” for us to guess. One of them said “Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaugh!!!” They all shouted “Mommy, when Nicholas pee-peed in his pants again and Annelise was playing instead of cleaning (and Daddy was out of town).”

  5. Anonymous said,

    March 8, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Even just the encouragement from Renee Farkus has changed the way I parent our kids. There are many opportunities where I take deep breaths and ask God to be Lord of this moment. If I ever find myself in the situation where I want to point my ugly finger and raise my voice at the kids, I am reminded to show grace and invite God to rule even then.
    My ugliest moments were when our son was 5 1/2 – 6 and my method of trying to get obedience was where I’d raise my voice and point at where I want him to respond (like to his room that was messy). Much like you would for a stray dog that had wandered onto your yard. Oh dear!

  6. heidi petak said,

    March 9, 2010 at 12:17 am

    my 3-year old son told me tonight that the first thing he was going to do when he woke up tomorrow was to scream really loud. i told him he had to do that outside.

    i was trying to imagine waking up tomorrow to my 3-year old screaming. if that happened, i might have to do a little screaming myself, i’m afraid. of course, then i would sing “it’s a happy day- and i thank God for the weather…”

  7. Amy Dillbeck said,

    March 9, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    I need to win this…cause I yell way too much.

  8. Amanda Han said,

    March 9, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    We emphasize “inside voices” and “outside voices”, so when we are outside, we get out all the screams as loudly as we can!


Leave a Reply

