We Want To Hear Your Inexpensive Valentine’s Date Ideas!

With Valentine’s Day right around the corner, we would love to hear your ideas for an inexpensive Valentine’s Day date with your special man!!!

 

Leave your idea in the comments below.

 

****************************************************************************

MOMS TOGETHER ATTENDEES:

BE SURE TO INCLUDE YOUR NAME WHEN LEAVING YOUR IDEA.

We will be entering everyone who leaves an idea and their name in the comments below into a drawing during Moms Together on February 9 for a great prize that you will DEFINITELY want a shot at winning!!

16 Comments

  1. melissa said,

    February 1, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    homemade fondue night in front of the fire!

  2. Kelly Bailey said,

    February 2, 2011 at 9:02 am

    My husband and I don’t like fighting the crowds to celebrate with dinner out on Valentine’s Day, so we have made it our tradition to spend Valentine’s evening cooking an adventurous meal together that we normally wouldn’t make! We get in the kitchen, turn on Frank Sinatra, dim the lights, and might even dance a bit. 😉

    I’m really looking forward to this year… and the dessert that we’ll make that will make the Iron Chefs mouth water!

  3. Kyndle said,

    February 2, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Kids to bed early…. Bring home a Costco combo pizza ($11), a Redbox movie ($1) & slice of red velvet cake from the local grocery ($2.50). Pizza, movie & dessert on the couch in front of the fire (priceless) (w/ leftovers for the kids the next day as those pizzas are big).

  4. Kristin Mullenix said,

    February 2, 2011 at 11:10 am

    If you enjoy looking at art with your hubby, then head over to the Frist – admission is free through February 19th! Pair that with a yummy restaurant Groupon and you’ve got yourself an inexpensive evening!

  5. Carol Schmid said,

    February 2, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    A game night with another couple is fun and free (minus the babysitter).

  6. emily sutherland said,

    February 2, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    i don’t think it has to be celebrated on the actual day, so ask some friends to swap childcare and then either cook at home alone 🙂 OR go to Amerigo’s before 6 pm and order off of their early bird menu…they have some great deals!!

  7. Linnette said,

    February 2, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    Like Kelly, we aren’t into the actual day of Valentines necessarily, so we like to get tickets to a concert or performance to celebrate Valentines somewhere in and around February. We’ve also attempted a few gourmet dishes together.

    If you want to know my favorite tradition, you’ll have to find me at MT, b/c I think its a little too spicy to post on here 😉

  8. February 8, 2011 at 11:15 am

    I’m afraid we are all about cheap! Heart pancakes for breakfast, heart/flower sandwiches for lunch, and a picnic in the den for dinner with chocolate and pink iced cupcakes. Yeah, I celebrate everything, but I think my husband secretly loves the notes in his car and the extra attention from my daughter. and I. 🙂

  9. RoseAnne said,

    February 8, 2011 at 11:49 am

    My husband & I don’t always get to go out ‘on’ Valentine’s Day…it’s whenever my parents are able to keep our 5 little ones. It’s a VERY special time since we only go out 2-3 times a year because I refuse to take advantage of my parents(though they’d gladly keep our children anytime we ask).

    So, when we do get to celebrate(though most times ‘after the fact’), we usually go to a restaurant that we have a buy 1 get 1 free coupon. We get there early so there’s no wait time & we can sit & enjoy our time together without worrying that the server is just trying to turn the table. It’s just soooo nice to talk with my husband about our life, marriage, children etc &/or just laugh at things that have happened that we couldn’t do if our children were with us.

  10. Shawna Berden said,

    February 8, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    Last year my husband and a friend’s husband cooked a full course dinner for me and my friend; it was wonderful, because we did not have to fight the crowds, and we were able to have a nice dinner with friends. Actually, the dinner was better than we could have ordered at a restaurant. Borrowing on this idea, you can do something similar, and have fun cooking with a friend. Set the table like a restaurant and even get the kids involved by making menues. As for the kids, either get a sitter, or set a table for them if they are old enough to eat by themselves. Hopefully the kids can entertain themselves for a bit so you can enjoy some conversation. Be sure to have appetizers to start, and play some fun music, but do not turn on the TV (as TV has a way of killing conversation). Happy Valentines Day!

  11. Anna Mueller said,

    February 8, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Dear Friends, Since I am a table leader, I will not put my name in the hat on this one, BUT I DO HAVE A GREAT INEXPENSIVE, LOW MAINTENANCE DATE NIGHT that I want to share with you.

    The GREEK CAFE in the stripmall in front of Publix on the corner of Carothers and Moore’s Lane (next to Value Vision) has AWESOME FOOD!!! Our family goes to the Saturday 5 pm service at Fellowship. Then on the way home, we stop at the GREEK CAFE and get their 2 dinner plates with choice of grilled chicken or beef over rice with salad and pita bread for $12.99. They give very large portions so we usually get 2 meals each and can feed our 4 year old son with some of the chicken and “pizza” bread. An extra piece of pita (SO GOOD) is $.59.
    So after Sat. night church we pick up dinner, go home, feed child, put child to bed and sit down together and relax with our plate of YUMMY FOOD that we did not have to cook and that will provide another meal for us tomorrow.
    I just picked up the same plate for lunch today and am giddy with excitement to eat it after I finish this post!
    You can eat at the Cafe, the atmosphere is not extremely romantic, but it is not crowded.
    There will be menus and coupons on your tables for the Greek Cafe for those of you who want to try it out. There is also a location on Mallory Lane next to KFC.

  12. Anna Mueller said,

    February 8, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    Don’t mean to be a pest, and again I am not entering this contest, but I do have another inexpensive date idea.

    My husband and I sometimes can afford Brunch more easily than we can afford dinner. Our favorite Brunch place by far is J. Christopher’s on Frazier Drive in Cool Springs. The atmosphere is fun, the coffee and food are DELICIOUS, the prices are good and the service is Great! We highly recommend it and have had many happy daytime dates there. It is open from early a.m. until 2 pm daily.

  13. valerie ritchey said,

    February 8, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    I am going to wake my kids up a little early from naps, and run them around so they are extra tired. My husband will get the kids ready for bed a little early, while I make a delicious dinner. We will enjoy a yummy candlelit dinner at home!

  14. Melissa Toy said,

    February 8, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    This Valentine’s Day will be the 4th year we have celebrated at Costco! It started out as a joke, but now I love the tradition… can’t beat 2 meals for under $5 and the crowd is pretty slim for the night!

  15. Amber Rice said,

    February 8, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    My husband’s favorite cake is Red Velvet. So it has become tradition to bake a from-scratch Red Velvet cake every year. I love to cook, so we just have a homemade dinner. I cook and he does the dishes. What could be better?

  16. February 8, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    I love Kelly B.’s idea! I might just do that. I saw an idea I am going to try this year. I am going to surprise my hubby at work with a little goody basket with red velvet whoopie pies and glass bottle orange crush soda with a pic of my son and myself attached to it that says, “we’ve got a CRUSH on you”. Happy Valentines day!


Leave a Reply

