A Message from the Field (TMoms) by Marya Elrod

Dear Brave TMoms,

 Isaiah 43:18-19

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. Behold, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?  I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.”  

 

I love that picture of Him bringing life & hope to something that before was overwhelming and desolate.  But today, as I was reading that chapter again, verse 5 hit me in a new way.  “Do not be afraid, for I am with you; I will bring your children from the east and gather you from the west.” 

 

So here we are…some of our children are wondering in the east while we are evidently somewhere in the west…we tend to be scattered people even living under one roof…and God is the one doing the gathering, the pulling together.  He does not say for us to get ourselves together or come to Him when we think we can do it right.  He has His arms wrapped around our children and he has his arms wrapped around us in all our broken states. And He says, “Do not be afraid…See, I am doing a new thing!”

 

Have you had a chance to use your “How They Are Wired” chart to figure out some ways to SEE your teen differently?  Remember that vision for who God is creating them to be is what they see us reflecting back to them.  We can trust Him to do the work.  He is capable!

 

Side Note:  Below is the poster I started at TMoms in December the week Jenny Watson spoke.  She encouraged us to make a poster to remind us to be grateful.  My kids added to it and it took me until January to get it finished and hung up on our pantry door but it is helping me.  I forget so easily just how much I have to be thankful for! We may just keep adding things to this as we go! Thank you, Jenny!

 

In His Amazing Grace,

Marya

 

 
 
 
Leave a Reply

